Never Forgotten: a Foster's Home Community  

Go Back   Never Forgotten: a Foster's Home Community > Other > Way Off Topic

Notices

Way Off Topic For non-Foster's-related *discussions* (not spam). Posts that are religious, sexual, or political in nature will be heavily moderated. Please keep it clean!

Old 07-17-2007, 04:05 PM   #1
AerostarMonk
Holy Toledo!

Just try to relax and I'll try not to steal from you.  

Send a message via AIM to AerostarMonk Send a message via MSN to AerostarMonk Send a message via Yahoo to AerostarMonk
Default Mr. CantWrite

So, you see I sorta have a problem. I'm a writer who doesn't write. How does that make me a writer you ask? Well, it's something people usually assume when they meet me, and always assume after they hear what interests me. So it's sort of like a brand on my forehead I guess. Now, here's the rub, I haven't written anything officially for ten years. Everything after that has been bad attempts at fan-fiction and half-baked ideas scrawled on paper.

I've tried everything, workshops, books, mandatory contests. None of them seem to work. It almost seems as if this writer's block is more like an impenetrable fortress. What's worse, I want to make this thing my lot in life. I want to write for comic books and animation.

I sorta know what's wrong. I'm a perfectionist when it comes to this sort of thing and I abhor having to rewrite stuff. It's okay if I'm rewriting to make up for logical errors and other such things, but not when I feel it's just terrible, then it seems like a why bother situation.

Now, this is not a self-pity topic. I've actually started this thread to ask if you, the good people of Never Forgotten, have any good ideas for crushing this writer's block once and for all. I'm open to any suggestion. I feel it's time to finally make good on that brand on my forehead.
From the highest wire
We walk through fire
Should our balance ever falter
Should our steps be unaligned